top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLauren Gonzalez

Mi Familia Española

If you're just here for the empanadas I understand and scroll to the bottom!


To tell you the truth, when I met my husband, we were fifteen years old and I didn't even notice he was Spanish. Of course I see it now. His dashingly handsome looks. His dominant jawline. His dark hair, skin, and eyes! Not sure how I missed it but there was no missing it the moment I walked into his home and spent time with his family. The smell of food constantly floating in the air. Loud music playing. People dancing wherever they stand. Lots of laughter and stories filling in the breaks in the music. It was a culture shock.














You see I am from a southern American family. We like casseroles, say y'all, drink sweet tea, say yes ma'am, and yes I like grits (I get beat up a lot by my Spanish family over this). My dad's family is from North Carolina and likely came from Western Europe. They were primarily Scottish and Irish. My mom's family settled in St. Augustine soon after it was founded and is German, Spanish, and Irish. With Jacksonville and its surrounding areas being such a melting pot people have always been shocked when my response to the question, "Where are you from?", is "Here, I am an 8th or 9th generation local". This is what made it such an interesting experience being thrust into Puerto Rican culture.


For a few years I felt shy. For starters, I would often be in a room and not know what was being said. The food and music were different. People's expectations and behaviors were different. His family was all so playful and confident, however, there was also a huge presence of respect. Doña Carmen, grandma, has always been the matriarch of the family. She says some pretty off the wall things but trust me she is ALWAYS right. Not to mention she's 95, still living on her own, and so strong! She knows what is up so you want to take time to listen to her. Next up was my Father in-law, Ed. He would challenge Doña a lot but in the end she was on top. He also melted like butter for her and would do anything. Imagine that in American culture. That is his mother in-law but he had so much respect for her.


Doña Carmen learning to use an iPhone


Anyways, I digress! Apparently I could do a whole post on being a southern white girl in a Puerto Rican family. The culture was different. I gradually learned many things that helped me fit in regardless of my roots. I learned how to have that outward Spanish confidence, what was considered respectful, and how to cook "with flavor". Cooking with flavor was a big one! It was said that my cooking "lacked dimension". Fried seafood, casseroles, and gravy were what I knew and loved but that changed!


When my Puerto Rican family says to me "This is missing something" what that really means is "Do you have a pilón and an astronomical amount of garlic?" If not, they will settle for some Adobo and/or Sazón, peppers and onion, or cilantro. Listen, my southern family cooks great! I love me some cheese grits and shrimp! I am here to say, however, there is some majorly good flavor when you use the above mentioned ingredients.


Now that I have been engrossed in this culture for a decade & a half and am working hard to raise my boys in it, I find myself prospering and being extremely grateful for my Spanish family. My Mother in-law has always wanted me to be hands on in the kitchen. She's always pushed me to understand and pronounce Spanish words. She exudes confidence and I'm so grateful that she has passed these things down to us so we can carry them on with our boys.


Well, with all of that said, I am going to let you in on one of my favorite dishes, beef empanadas, with several other recipes to share in the future.


My mother in-law, son, and husband making empanadas


Beef Empanadas Recipe:


Ingredients:

1tbsp.Olive Oil

½lb. ground beef

½ medium yellow onion, finely chopped (about ½ cup)

¼cup tomato sauce

6 Spanish Olives stuffed with pimentos, diced (We prefer no olives)

2tbsp. Sofrito

1packet Sazon

1tsp. minced garlic

½tsp. Oregano

Adobo to taste

1pkg. Goya discs for empanadas (In the freezer section)

Corn or Vegetable oil to fry (Or you can bake in the oven)


Directions:


Take disc out so they have time to defrost.


Step1 Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add ground beef and cook until browned, breaking up meat with a wooden spoon, about 10 minutes. Add onions and cook until soft, about 5 minutes more. Stir in tomato sauce, olives, Sofrito, Sazón, garlic, oregano and black pepper. Lower heat to medium-low and simmer until mixture thickens, about 15 minutes.

Step2 On a lightly floured work surface, using a rolling pin, roll out discos until ½” larger in diameter. Spoon in meat mixture into middle, fold in half to form a half moon; moisten edges with water, seal with a fork by pressing firmly all around the edges to ensure they are closed.

Step3 If frying place oil in pot. Enough to cover the empanadas. Heat oil over medium-high heat until hot but not smoking. Cook Empanadas in batches until crisp and golden brown, flipping once, 4 – 6 minutes. Transfer to paper towels to drain.


57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page